1.) Tell me a little about yourself. Where do you call home?

Home is somewhere safe and secure, a place that gives me a sense of belonging. It needs to feel safe and permanent for me to let my guard down and create an environment that reflects and nourishes my soul. Where I can be me. It is my refuge. I have been living in various countries, such as Colombia, Israel, USA, Spain and now in Germany. Therefore, I have learned to create my home where ever I am.

2.) How did you get your start as a Gemologist and jewelry Designer?

My interest in the world of Gemstones and jewelry started at the age of 15. My family had some friends that used to own jewelry stores, and they recognized my passion and interest. They started to teach me everything they could until I graduated from high school and decided to look for a Gemologist career in USA (New York.) When I started to study, I realized that I felt complete. It is my passion, and I am completely devoted to it.

3.) Did you have any formal training or are you a self taught?

I had my formal training from different institutions, such as
GIA (Gemological Institute of America) and the Jewelers Education Foundation, but life brought me the majority of my experience. I´m always learning in this field.

4.) Do you remember the first piece of jewelry you ever made?

Yes, of course! That was a beautiful, blue, star-shaped, Sapphire ring that I made for my mother. She stills wears it, and she says that it is her lucky charm.

5.) What got you started in jewelry design?

I am a night person, when it gets dark, my creativity starts to flow. I start to draw, and sometimes I keep drawing until 2 or 3 in the morning. That’s how I started to design jewelry. I realized that I have the talent and creativity as a gift from God and that I have to explore it. Normally when a client wishes something specific, then I wait for the evening and start creating wonderful designs.

6.) Did you always want to be a jewelry designer or did stumble into it?


That was always my wish since I was a little girl. In fact, my last name, Goldsztayn, means “Stone of Gold”. I did some research and it seems as though my ancestors were involved in jewelry. It is in my genes.

7.) Did you begin working with a company?

Yes, I started to work for different companies. It was a wonderful experience because they allowed me to grow. I am very grateful. However, my biggest wish was always to have my own place,to be more in touch with customers, and be part of their stories. The jewelry business is very connected with emotions, and I love it. Now, I have my own company (SHOGOLD), and I enjoy every minute of it.

8.) When how did your freelance career begin?

It began in New York. I am a workaholic, and I had the chance to work in different places. When I began to offer my services, I realized I was working for lot of companies and traveling in different countries in the world.

9.) Where do you see yourself in the world of jewelry artists?

I see myself as a creative soul, but I believe that all jewelry artists have that divine inspiration. I believe that we all can unite and create exquisite beauty. What we can do together as a team has the potential to defy imagination.

10.) What are your goals in your work?

I have so many goals, but the main ones are to help clients when they have a unique vision. I want to provide my experience and make their dreams a reality,to enjoy my designs as much as I enjoy creating them. To see a satisfied customer brings me so much happiness. And finally one day to be able to have a non-profit organization where I can help creative souls to developed their dreams.

11.) What are your favorite mediums/methods?

There are so many methods, but one of my favorite ones are the assembling, the symmetry, stone setting and cutting gemstones.

12.) What material would you like to work with/or what skill would you like to learn that you haven’t yet?

In the jewelry world. there is so much to learn. It is an everyday process. I would love to learn Mokumegane ( 木目金 ), an ancient Japanese technique of fusing layers of precious metals to form a single piece with unique and distinctive swirling patterns.

Website: www.shogold.com